Skip to content

fresh fruit sugar cookie crisp.

Oh my.

Why haven’t we thought of this before?  A  sugar cookie topping for a fruit crisp?!

Emma was pretty excited to give it a go…

I used strawberries, which I found on sale this week for $1.50/lb, and which I’ve been loving all over the place like in this cake or salad.

I think peaches, apples, raspberries, blackberries, blueberries or a combination of fruits would be incredible too!  Just toss them in a dish with some flour and sugar, then top with a huge sugar cookie!


We couldn’t resist so we threw on a little vanilla ice cream.  Fresh whipped cream would be out of this world too.

Simple.  Easy.  And a major crowd-pleaser too.  You might have people fighting over seconds so just get ready to bring your mad negotiation and peacemaking skills, you know, in case things get real crazy.

Fresh Fruit Sugar Cookie Crisp

(Adapted from Heather Christo, with whom I’m absolutely smitten at the moment, serves 10)

2 1/2 cups flour

1 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup butter, cut into small pieces

2 egg yolks

2 tablespoons sugar

8 cups chopped fresh fruit (I used strawberries, about 3 pounds)

1/4 cup sugar

2 tablespoons flour

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

In a food processor, combine the flour, sugar and salt together.  Add butter and pulse into fine crumbs.  Add the yolks and pulse until dough comes together, adding a little ice water if needed so the dough sticks together (trying not to pulse too much or dough will be tough).  Form into a dough on wax paper and refrigerate.

Cut fruit and toss in a large bowl with the sugar and flour.  Place in a 9×13″ pan.

Meanwhile, roll out the refrigerated cookie dough on the wax paper, using a little flour to prevent sticking to the rolling pin.  Roll out to a 9×13″ shape, and then use the wax paper to roll onto the fruit. Sprinkle sugar on top of the dough.

Bake for 30-40 minutes, or until crust starts to turn golden.  Serve hot or at room temperature.  Serve with fresh whipped cream or ice cream.

TOTAL:  $6.65 or $.67 per serving (ice cream or whipped cream not included).

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

396 calories per serving (no ice or whipped cream, based on strawberries)

15 grams of fat

61 carbs

5 grams protein

3 grams fiber (yippee!)

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think or send me a pic if you tried it!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. Noticed the good deals on strawberries too. Your cookie crisp looks scrumptious!

    April 19, 2012
    • Oh Kate you have to try it! It’s super easy and SOOO good!

      April 19, 2012
  2. Oh my gosh I am so making this!

    April 19, 2012
  3. I don’t have a food processor right now. Any suggestions?

    April 19, 2012
    • I’d go with a blender and make sure the butter is a little soft. Then refrigerate dough about an hour before rolling out. Still will be great.

      April 19, 2012
  4. Also, how come your pics show a red pie pan but in the recipe it says to use a 13×9? Which is better? I like the pie pan idea better. Are there any modifications if I go with the pie pan?

    April 19, 2012
    • Caught! I used a pie pan since it would be cuter for a shot than a glass 13X9. So you could use the one larger dish or 2 smaller ones (as I did). No other modifications necessary.

      April 19, 2012
  5. I love your blog so much that I nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award! Visit my site to see the other nominations! http://tastythumb.wordpress.com/2012/04/19/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    April 20, 2012
  6. That sounds so good! I am going to try this this summer for sure.

    April 20, 2012
  7. hookedontaste #

    You can’t go wrong with sugar cookies and fresh strawberries. Yum.

    April 21, 2012
    • Strawberries, peaches, apples, you name it…fruit and cookies (especially when you pile on a scoop of ice cream) are incredible. Enjoy!

      April 21, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 18 ways to eat more fruits and vegetables « Down-Home South Jersey

Leave a Reply

