Skip to content

black bean salad.

It’s no secret our family loves us some beans.  From soups to salads to chicken and rice bakes that I call a “bake” because I’m too snobby to introduce “casserole” to my vocabulary, beans are decided a staple in our kitchen.  And when I figured out what I could save by cooking my own instead of buying canned beans, our relationship went to a whole new level.

But today we’re talking about a bean salad that’s a side dish that’s a dip too – now that’s versatility!  Perfect for your next neighborhood potluck or picnic at the beach.

Whisk up a light dressing of olive oil, lime juice, honey and spices…then toss and serve!

Ready in minutes!  Let the fiesta begin.

Black Bean Salad

(serves 6 as a side dish, or more if served as a dip with chips)

What You’ll Need:

Salad:

2 cans black beans, rinsed and drained (or if cooking dried beans, about 2 1/2 cups beans total)

4 bell peppers, chopped, any color (I used red as they were on sale for $0.49 that week)

1/4 cup cilantro

1 medium onion, chopped

Dressing:

3 tablespoons olive oil

1 teaspoon cumin

juice of 1 lime

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon honey

1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Instructions:

Mix together the beans, peppers, cilantro and onion in a medium bowl.  Separately, whisk together the dressing ingredients.  Pour over the beans and toss combine.  Taste and season accordingly as needed.

Enjoy as a side dish or with tortilla chips.

TOTAL:  $4.17 or $70 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

211 calories per serving

8 grams of fat

37 carbs

11 grams protein

9 grams fiber

Did you give it a try?  Leave me a comment below or head over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

One Comment Post a comment
  1. YUM! Bean based salads are incredible. Plus, it has coriander… I adore coriander…

    April 22, 2012

Leave a Reply

