Skip to content

next week’s menu plan #6, grocery list included!

What a weekend. 

Let’s hit the highlights:

1.  A bbq for 72 neighbors and friends, followed by all the kiddos watching a movie under the stars in their jammies.  What a proud parent moment.  Community is life-giving, and I pray some day my kids will think not knowing your neighbors is just weird.  Also, I made some bars that I’ll be posting soon.  Just get ready.  And don’t hate…I’ll just say there’s a lot of chocolate and english toffee involved.

2.  A dear friend’s over-the-top amazing circus-themed party complete with ponies (real ponies!) for the kids to ride.  Take a look at her dessert table.  Spectacularly delicious.

3.  I also had the privilege of bringing 2 meals to 2 women I adore!  One newly pregnant and one a new Mama.  Having been in both places I LOVE being able to serve this way.  This chicken was on the menu.

Here’s this week’s menu! 

There are a few more involved or fancy dishes for company or weekend meals, and several that will be great during the week since they’re easy to whip up.  Have a great week, and if you make any of these meals let me know how it goes!

Dinner #1:

Almond Chicken and Haricots Vert with Shallots

Prep and Cooking Time:  30 minutes

Total:  $5.21 for the chicken + $3.24 for the green beans

Dinner #2:

Falafel Pitas with a Simple Salad

Prep and Cooking Time:  20 minutes

Total:  $3.95 for the falafel pitas + estimated $2.00 for a side salad


Dinner #3:

Chicken Cacciatore with Polenta with a Simple Salad

Prep and Cooking Time:  1 hour, 15 minutes

Total:  $7.95 for the chicken and polenta+estimated $2.00 for a side salad


Dinner #4: 

Roasted Salmon with a Blackberry Jalapeno Butter and Roasted Cauliflower

Prep and Cooking Time:  30 minutes

Total:  $13.75 for the salmon + $1.88 for the cauliflower


Dinner #5:

Pasta with Sausage, Broccoli and Asiago with a Simple Salad

Prep and Cooking Time:  25 minutes

Total:  $8.00 for the pasta + estimated $2.00 for the salad


Dinner #6:

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup and Cornbread

Prep and Cooking Time:  60 minutes

Total:  $9.07 for the soup + estimated $2.00 for the cornbread


Total for 6 nights of dinners:  $61.05!  That’s about $2.18 per serving.

Shopping List (items you likely don’t already have in your pantry):

Meat

  • 3 pounds boneless skinless chicken breast (I look for around $1.99/lb)
  • 3-4 pound fryer chicken, cut (I look for around $1.99/lb)
  • 2 pounds salmon (I look for around $4.99/b)
  • 1 pound italian sausage (I buy chicken sausage for around $2.99/lb)

Produce/Herbs

  • 1 pound haricots vert
  • 3 shallots
  • 1 bunch italian parsley
  • 1 bunch cilantro
  • 1 teaspoon rosemary (I prefer fresh, but wouldn’t pay for it since it’s like a weed around here)
  • 1 bunch green onions
  • 1 head garlic
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 cucumber
  • lettuce (for salads)
  • tomato
  • 1 head cauliflower
  • 2 heads broccoli
  • 1 1/2 cup blackberries
  • 1 jalapeno pepper
  • 2 onions
  • 1 bell pepper (any color)
  • 1 pound mushrooms

Pantry

  • 1 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 cup sliced or slivered almonds
  • 1 (15 ounce) can chickpeas
  • 2 whole wheat pitas
  • 2 1/2 cups red wine
  • 2 (28 ounce) cans diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 pound pasta (fusilli or rigatoni)
  • 4 anchovy fillets (optional, for pasta)
  • 8 corn tortillas
  • 6 cups chicken stock
  • cornbread

Dairy/Eggs

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup greek yogurt
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 sticks butter
  • 1/4 cup asiago cheese
  • shredded jack cheese for topping on soup

Join the Community on Facebook

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sounds like an awesome weekend!

    You were talking about taking food to expecting/new moms. That would make a great post. You know, recipes, how you package it, reheating instructions, etc.

    I’d enjoy your “frugal take” on it 🙂

    April 23, 2012
    • Jennifer, that’s actually on my list of posts I’d like to do – thanks! Love the part about packaging and reheating.

      April 23, 2012
      • Yay! Can’t wait to read it 🙂

        April 23, 2012
  2. Sarah #

    Awww, I made the blog. I feel like a celebrity. Dying to try your blackberry jalapeno salmon recipe!! 🙂 xxoo

    April 24, 2012
    • Of COURSE you made the blog! And you know I already sent that pic to Melody too (since I stalk her and everything 🙂

      April 24, 2012
  3. Cant wait to shop for cook and eat all this! U do a great job naming each dish to make it sound really mouthwatering, Jason agrees too!

    Question: which day of they week do u suggested ur readers shop to get the same deals u get at the specficstores or is just a matter of stocking up when it’s on sale?

    April 24, 2012
    • If Jason agrees, I’m a happy camper:)
      As to your question, both actually. I usually shop at Sprouts on Wednesdays for the best deals (since you can get both weeks deals on Wednesday), and if there’s a sale I’ll stock up if it’s something I can stick in the pantry or freeze if I don’t plan on using right away. So for instance last week there was a sale on almonds at the store so I bought a couple pounds and will use them in the chicken, in salads, granola, granola bars, etc. in the next week or two.
      Thanks!

      April 24, 2012
  4. Kelly, I don’t think the sausage is on this list for the pasta salad. Also, where do you buy your adobo chilis in chipotle sauce (I think that’s what it is called). Don’t seem to see anything like the needed ingredient at Trader’s of Sprouts.

    May 8, 2012
    • Oh my I am SOOOOO sorry! You are right and I will add the sausage immediately! I hope it didn’t cause you too much trouble.
      I usually find the chiles at Sprouts or Target. If you’re at a larger chain store they should have them there too.
      My apologies again!!

      May 8, 2012
      • No problem as I often go with the flow, but figured it might frustrate others!

        May 8, 2012

Leave a Reply

