Skip to content

maple oat pancakes.

This recipe was inspired by that which was uninspired.

Huh?

I was sent a recipe that a reader felt was lacking in the flavor department and needed a little help.  And I was so excited to help bring a little love to this gluten-free, butter-free pancake recipe that I got to work within hours of receiving her email!  If you have a recipe that’s just missing a little something or that needs a frugal makeover, hit me up via Facebook or Twitter!

Process your oats, baking powder, salt and cinnamon in a food processor until course and flour-like.

Separately, whisk together your wet ingredients and then fold with the dry.

Cook over your hot griddle, pour yourself a cup of coffee, and then…


…eat your little heart out!  They’re healthy for you so no guilt!

Maple Oat Pancakes

(Serves 4)

1 1/2 cups oats (a lot of oats are gluten-free but double check if you have any concerns)

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 teaspoons cinnamon

3 eggs

1/3 cup plain greek yogurt (I use full fat)

3 tablespoons maple syrup or maple/agave blend*

2 teaspoons vanilla

*I often substitute maple/agave blend for maple syrup as it’s typically at least 50% less.  No charge for that little tip.

Instructions:

Combine all dry ingredients in a food processor.

Separately, whisk together the eggs, yogurt, maple syrup and vanilla.

Fold together wet and dry ingredients.  Cook on a griddle, flipping once bubbles appear on the pancakes.  Top with maple syrup, bananas, berries or your favorite pancake toppings.*

*You could also include your favorite fruits inside the pancake batter.  Double yum.

TOTAL:  $2.78 or $.70 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

230 calories per serving

7 grams of fat

32 carbs

9 grams protein

3 gram fiber (yippee!)

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think or send me a pic if you tried it!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wow. They look delicious.

    April 24, 2012
  2. These sound great, I will have to try them soon! Especially now that strawberries are finally looking good in the markets again, they would be great on the side.

    April 24, 2012
  3. These look good, Kelly. I’ll have to try them sometime. If you want to lighten the texture, separate your eggs, beat the whites first apart from the other liquids and fold them in just before frying.

    April 24, 2012
  4. Jen #

    ah fun!! 🙂 i actually made them this morning! Yummy yummy!

    April 24, 2012
    • I updated them a little from what I sent you since I think the maple is more flavorful, but I’m glad you liked it! Thanks for the inspiration!

      April 24, 2012
  5. Delicious! Those look utterly fantastic! Nice and healthy too and the maple is a great flavour.

    April 25, 2012
  6. I’ve been on an oat kick lately so these babies are just screaming my name!

    May 8, 2012

Leave a Reply

