Skip to content

chocolate chip toffee chunk bars.

Well…

Don’t hate me.

You see, I couldn’t help myself.  I passed the chocolate-covered english toffee bin at Sprouts and felt a sudden burst of inspiration.  I think that’s what happens when you go grocery shopping without children.  Oh Lord help me when I send them off to school.

Why not throw some chocolate chips and english toffee into cookie bars? I mean look at that toffee…it’s just asking to be consumed, preferably in big fat chunks.

Here’s the shot I took while waiting for the dang things to cool and boy did it seem to take forever!  Fortunately for me I was making them for our neighborhood bbq so I couldn’t devour them all myself.  Also, as a side note, I’ll have you know I substituted half whole wheat flour just in case that tips the scales your way and you decide to just go for it and make them.


Are we still friends?

Chocolate Chip Toffee Chunk Bars

(yields 16)

1 stick butter, at room temperature

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 cups flour (I substituted half whole wheat, half white)

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup chocolate chips

1 cup coarsely chopped chocolate-covered toffee

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Grease an 8-inch baking pan or line it with foil.

Mix together the butter with the white and brown sugars until well combined (1-2 minutes).  Add 1 egg and then vanilla, mixing until fluffy.  Add flour, soda and chocolate chips and stir until just combined.

Place half of the dough into a baking dish, top with toffee, then place the other half.  Press down gently.

Bake for 25 minutes, or until top is golden brown.  Let cool at least 30 minutes before slicing.

TOTAL:  $4.75 or $.30 per serving

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

221 calories per bar

11 grams of fat

28 carbs

3 grams protein

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think or send me a pic if you tried it!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. We don’t! Those look fantastic – so decadent I can’t quite believe it. How yummy.

    April 26, 2012
  2. Amber #

    I will be making these as soon as I can get my hands on the toffee. Thanks!

    April 26, 2012
    • Thanks! I think you’ll really enjoy them!

      April 27, 2012
  3. These look awesome. Great for sharing with friends.

    May 1, 2012
    • Thanks! Just found Dishclips online – what a fascinating concept! I’m sure I’ll hear more of you, especially being right here in the OC.

      May 1, 2012
  4. Amber #

    Oh no! My local sprouts does not carry the toffee bars. I spoke to the manager and he said that he will try to start carrying them just for me (we’ll see about that). Which Sprouts do you go to?

    May 1, 2012
    • The one in Irvine. I’ll bring you some on Sunday while your manager gets his act together 🙂

      May 2, 2012
  5. Amber #

    Made these today and these bars won’t last long. I used all whole wheat flour and it turned out great. Thanks for the toffee!!

    May 18, 2012
    • Hooray! They went in hours at our place too…

      May 18, 2012
  6. Ana #

    I picked up the chocolate covered toffee bars at Spriuts today and I was thinking cookies but remembered this recipe. So much less time/work and such a delicious payoff!

    June 27, 2012
    • Ana #

      I meant “Sprouts” of course. 🙂

      June 27, 2012

Leave a Reply

