Skip to content

sea salt honey almond butter.

It’s kind of an unhealthy obsession, this eating well on a budget thing.

Sometimes I think I’m going a little overboard, calculating my running totals as I go through the grocery stores…finding myself totally ecstatic when I find some great deal on, I don’t know, oats…or stretching us through a day or two just to make it to the best day of the week to get the most deals.  Sorry, Andrew, if you’re still hungry you can have a bowl of frozen peas or some canned tuna. 

But today I’m thrilled to share with you a do-it-yourself recipe that is both functional and totally fabulous!  One that you and your kids will absolutely adore, and that’s so simple to make!

This recipe includes 3 ingredients.

Yes, 3.

1.  Almonds.

2.  Sea Salt.

3.  Honey.

Did I just blow your mind?

Have a food processor?

Great, throw in your almonds and turn that puppy on until the almonds release their oils and start to form a ball.

Toss in some sea salt and honey, then turn the processor back on to finish off the butter.


Did you know almond butter could be so easy to make?  I sure didn’t…

And the cost savings!  Most jars of equal amount are between $5-6, compared to $3.90 for ours!

Think you’ll give it a try?! Let me know!

Sea Salt Honey Almond Butter

(Adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod’s Recipe on Tasty Kitchen – Makes approx. 1 1/4 cups)

2 cups roasted, unsalted almonds

1 teaspoon sea salt

1-2 tablespoons honey

Instructions:

Place almonds in a food processor.  Turn processor on until the almonds release their oils and start to form a ball.  Turn off the processor and add sea salt and honey, to taste.  I started with 1 tablespoon honey and liked that amount, but you may want yours a little sweeter.  Turn processor back on and finish mixing.

Scrape almond butter into a jar, seal with a lid and store in the fridge* until you’re ready to enjoy!

We love ours on toast, sandwiches, rolled up in a whole wheat tortilla with some honey, on top of bananas, apples, or yogurt OR just straight out of the jar.

*Note:  Several readers have commented (and I experienced as well) that the almond butter became a little dry and hard to spread after bring refrigerated overnight.  I recommend either leaving it at room temperature in a sealed jar or adding a little extra oil to the butter while processing it.

TOTAL:  $3.90 or about $.19 per tablespoon serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

58 calories per tablespoon

5 grams of fat

3 carbs

2 grams protein

1 gram fiber

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think or send me a pic if you tried it!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sarah #

    I’m definitely trying this! It looks yummy and I know my kids will enjoy it too 🙂

    May 7, 2012
    • Sarah – it was SO good. Emma and I just stood over the food processor, sampling spoons in hand, eating spoon after spoon of it.

      May 8, 2012
  2. That looks so yummy. ~I’ll have to try making my own nut butter. It always looks so delicious.

    May 7, 2012
    • and SO easy too! I’m sure it would be great with other nuts as well (or sunflower seeds).

      May 8, 2012
  3. Yes! I am totally going to try this (and stuff peaches with it in the summer!). I just made a similar simple hazelnut butter to stuff pears, it’s a great dessert if you want to make this deliciousness one step further! (This is the recipe I used, but your almond butter would also be amazing in these pears: http://emmycooks.com/2012/05/05/hazelnut-baked-pears/)

    May 8, 2012
  4. Zoe #

    This is fantastic! The flavor is amazing.

    Quick question. I made this yesterday and it was a nice spreadable thickness. I put it in the fridge. This morning it’s dry and crumbly and no longer spreadable. Did I do something wrong? Any advice?

    Thanks!

    May 30, 2012
    • I’m so glad you reminded me of this. Same thing happened to me! I think it’s due to the lack of oil in the butter. So I’m planning to keep mine at room temperature, especially as these ingredients individually can sit in the pantry anyway. Plus it goes fast anyway…
      Glad you enjoyed it (at least the first day!) and thank you for the feedback!!

      May 30, 2012
  5. Zoé #

    Do you think I can put it back in the processor with a bit of oil?

    May 30, 2012
    • That’s exactly what I would try with the leftover butter. Let me know how it goes!!

      May 31, 2012

Leave a Reply

