Skip to content

savory asiago rosemary cookies, and let’s make a deal.

Last night we had a little Tuesday night dinner party soiree at our place. 

I’ve become convinced that any night is a good night for a dinner party.  During the course of the evening the conversation turned to social media and the sea of content, the endless noise we’re bombarded with when we jump online, check out blogs, connect on facebook or twitter, peruse pics on instagram, pin away on pinterest.

I feel it…do you?

That anxious feeling in your chest that there’s just too much to know and see and do and I’m never going to be able to keep up with all the people and news and recipes and crafts and pictures and on and on and on.  I think my blood pressure jumped a few points just thinking about it.

Anyway, let’s make a deal, ok?

I promise to work my darndest to provide useful tips, recipes and recommendations that I hope will save you money, help you eat well and inspire even the most novice cooks in the kitchen…and the minute I become just one more voice adding to the noise in your day, providing you with little to no real value, feel free to tune me out.  Ok?

Alright, if you’re still here…let’s move on to the best savory cookie you’ve ever tasted:

Have you ever had a savory cookie?  They are ah-mazing!  This one starts with oats, olive oil, and a little brown sugar for some sweetness.

Also, as a total side note, check out the sweet polish job I did on Emma’s nails…

Then the cookie gets even better with cheese, rosemary, freshly cracked black pepper and sea salt.

Yum.  Just yum.


Top with a little extra sea salt…then dream about what you’ll pair with these savory delights.

I think these would be fabulous at a wine and cheese party, served with a soft cheese, or alongside a nice soup…and definitely with a glass of your favorite white wine in hand.

Savory Asiago Rosemary Cookies

(Inspired by TheKitchn, a blog I LOVE, and makes about 18 cookies)

1 cup oats (quick or regular)

1/4 cup warm water

1/3 cup olive oil

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 egg, beaten

1 cup all-purpose flour (I used half whole wheat, half regular)

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

3 teaspoons minced rosemary

1/4 teaspoon cracked black pepper

1 cup grated asiago or parmesan cheese

sea salt for finishing

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350F.

Place the oats in a mixing bowl and pour warm water over them.

In a separate bowl, mix together the olive oil, brown sugar and egg.  Pour this mixture over the oats, stir to combine, and set aside.

In another mixing bowl, mix together the flour, sea salt, baking soda, rosemary and pepper.  Stir in the asiago or parmesan cheese.

Gradually sprinkle the flour mixture onto the oat mixture, stirring gently to combine.

Use a tablespoon, scoop and place dough on a cooking sheet lined with parchment paper or baking mat.  Flatten each ball of dough until it is about 1/4 inch thick and form a disk with your hands.  Sprinkle a little extra sea salt on each cookie.

Bake 15-17 minutes, or until edges are golden.  Serve with cheese, wine, soup or just enjoy by itself.

TOTAL:  $2.62 or $.15 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

100 calories per cookie

5.5 grams of fat

10 carbs

2 grams protein

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think or send me a pic if you tried it!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. I laughed when you mentioned your daughter’s manicure – it was the first thing I noticed 🙂

    These look awesome – thinking about making them for the food swap. I still can’t make up my mind!

    May 9, 2012
    • You should! I’m so excited to hear what you end up making.

      May 10, 2012
  2. These look delicious. They are on my to try list!

    May 9, 2012
    • Fantastic! Let me know what you think after you make them.

      May 10, 2012
  3. I would like these, Kelly. Into the saved blogs folder they go.

    May 9, 2012
    • Fabulous! I’ve got one of those folders too…though virtual, it’s quite thick 🙂

      May 10, 2012
  4. I agree that any night is a good night for a party. 🙂 I made these “cookies” a while back–they’re crazy! They are a great cocktail nibble/conversation starter. 🙂

    May 10, 2012
    • You beat me to them! I had never had a savory cookie before…so good!!

      May 10, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 6 recipes for frugal cooks | Smart Living Blog
  2. Food Swap Round 2: Inspiration – Down-Home South Jersey

Leave a Reply

