Skip to content

shrimp pizza with arugula pesto and smoked mozzarella.

My love for pizza has been well documented.

There was the goat cheese and roasted garlic pizza with arugula, this prosciutto and caramelized onion pizza, and a bacon and egg breakfast pizza.  I’m beginning to realize the common denominator in all the pizzas I’ve created this last year is that the tomato sauce is completely missing, replaced instead by olive oil, roasted garlic, or mascarpone cheese.  Does that make me a pizza snob?  Anti-traditional?

Well this pizza is no exception to my anti-tomato sauce pizza track record.  And I’ll share with you a little secret…I totally made it up, expecting it to be a big fat flop.

It all started when I found shrimp on sale for $3.99/lb, so I bought a half pound.

Then I realized I had pizza dough and arugula in the fridge.  So I picked up some smoked mozzarella, and the rest is history.

I’m such a fan of arugula pesto!  We use arugula in salads anyway, plus this pesto is great in this spaghetti with golden beets and goat cheese!

Here are my little shrimp, sauteing away in garlic and olive oil…

Add your toppings – smoked mozzarella, asiago cheese, red onions and toasted pine nuts if you’re in the mood…

and…

…a fancy-pants pizza is ready to go in 15 minutes!

No joke…Andrew and I had to work hard not to eat the entire pizza ourselves.  It was hard but we held strong.  Oh it was so good, I mean rivaling some of our favorite pizza joints, if I do say so myself.  So give it a try, will you?!

Moving on…

P.S. – Have you shared your favorite Trader Joes items for my gift card giveaway?  Leave a comment here by Wednesday, May 23rd at Midnight for your chance at $20 bucks to spend on your favorite TJs items!

Shrimp Pizza with Arugula Pesto and Smoked Mozzarella

(serves 4-6)

What You’ll Need:

For the Arugula Pesto:

2 tablespoons olive oil

3 cups arugula

1 clove garlic

For the Shrimp:

1/2 pound shrimp, uncooked, deveined and peeled

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 clove minced garlic

1 teaspoon salt

For the Pizza:

1 pizza dough (I use Trader Joes Wheat Dough), uncooked

1/3 to 1/2 cup arugula pesto

dash of crushed red chili pepper (optional)

4-6 ounces smoked mozzarella cheese, sliced

1/4 cup asiago cheese, shredded

1/2 pound cooked shrimp

1/4 red onion, sliced thin

handful of toasted pine nuts (optional)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Make the Pesto:

Place arugula, olive oil and garlic in a food processor and process until consistency of pesto.  This recipe makes it a little less oily so add more oil if you prefer it less dry.

Prepare and cook the Shrimp:

In a medium sauce pan over medium-high heat, heat the olive oil.  Add garlic and shrimp and cook until shrimp is fully cooked and pink on both sides.

For the pizza:

Roll out pizza dough on a lightly floured surface.  Top dough with arugula pesto, crushed red pepper (if using), sliced smoked mozzarella and shredded asiago.  Next, add shrimp (cut in half if need be for bite size pieces), red onion slices and pine nuts (if using).

Bake 12-15 minutes, or until cheese is bubbling and crust is cooked through and golden.

TOTAL:  $7.05 or $1.76 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

543 calories per serving (based on 4 servings, less if you’re more disciplined than I)

25 grams of fat

50 carbs

33 grams protein

4 grams fiber

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. I do like tomato with shrimp. I would be tempted to make this pizza with a little red sauce and throw the arugula on to wilt right when it came out of the oven.

    May 22, 2012
    • That sounds great too. If you give it a try do tell!

      May 23, 2012

Leave a Reply

