Skip to content

tuscan kale salad.

Did you ever have a favorite “lovey” growing up? You know, some animal or doll or blanket that you had to have every day, that you never grew tired of, even when it got filthy from carding it all over kingdom come and the edges started to wear off?

For me it was Krystal, this doll I loved so much her leg fell off.  No kidding.  Also I had a yellow blankie my Grandma Mum made for me that got so much lovin’ the “silkies” she put on the outside straight-up disappeared and when she re-attached new silkies I wanted nothing to do with the blanket anymore for they just weren’t the same.

My point is, there are some things that we might enjoy, maybe even love, so much that we treasure them day in and day out.  For me, that’s this salad.  My grown up “lovey.”

And this “lovey” is a nice balance to another in my life:  namely, coffee ice cream.

Breadcrumbs, cheese, and a lemony pepper vinaigrette make this healthy salad absolutely divine!

Serve alongside your favorite main dish or top with fish, chicken or seafood for a main dish salad.

Tuscan Kale Salad

(adapted from Dr. Weil’s recipe, which I fell in love with while at True Food Kitchen)

What You’ll Need:

6 cups kale, ribs removed and chopped

juice of 1 lemon

4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

2 garlic cloves, mashed

salt and pepper, to taste

hot red pepper flakes, to taste

2/3 cup grated asiago or parmesan cheese

1/2 cup toasted fresh bread crumbs (I used 2 slices of whole wheat sandwich bread)

Instructions:

Whisk together lemon juice, olive oil, garlic, salt, pepper and hot pepper flakes.  Pour over the kale in a serving bowl and toss well.   Add 2/3 of the cheese and toss again.  Let kale rest for 5 minutes, add breadcrumbs and toss again.  Top with remaining cheese.

TOTAL:  $3.00 or $.50 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

202 calories per serving

12 grams of fat

12 carbs

8 grams protein

42 grams fiber

Did you give it a try?  Leave me a comment below or head over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. enjoywithjoy #

    I love kale, as I always say kale is a super food. This definitely I have to try…thanks for sharing!

    May 30, 2012
    • You MUST! It’s sooooo good!

      May 31, 2012
  2. Oh, man, I lovey this salad too. I can’t get enough! I usually do croutons, though–I like the idea of breadcrumbs instead for crunch in every bite. 🙂

    May 30, 2012
  3. I adore kale, that looks delicious. I had a blanket that I took down to breakfast with me in the morning – it was pretty gross. I turned it into a poncho for a fancy dress eventually… Sorry about your doll’s leg!

    May 30, 2012
  4. I never had a “lovey,” but I did have imaginary friends. What does that say about me? Hmmm.

    Believe it or not, I’ve never had kale (aside from a restaurant garnish). This recipe may just get me to try it!

    May 30, 2012
    • Yes you must try it! I wasn’t a kale person either until I made this one…

      May 30, 2012
  5. oh goodness! i like my kale – kale chips, kale stuffed into mac and cheese, kale sauteed with almonds, raisins and a little balsamic reduction… but i had a kale salad at a local restaurant the other day that blew my friggin mind. i look forward to trying this one out 🙂 pinning!

    June 2, 2012
    • Thanks Kristy! This one’s amazing! Hope you enjoy.

      June 4, 2012
  6. Looks really very healty 🙂 We will try it…

    June 11, 2012
  7. So simple and looks so yummy!

    June 15, 2012
    • It is! I had never had kale until this salad, and I can’t get enough of it!

      June 15, 2012
  8. looks amazing! cant wait to try this!
    .

    June 18, 2012
  9. mira yokoyama #

    the salad was good, the dressing tasted heavy on the citrus side, maybe more olive oil and less lemon.

    July 16, 2012
    • Thanks Mira! I really like the lemon, so I’ll make a note about the lemony taste. Appreciate your feedback!

      July 16, 2012

Leave a Reply

