Skip to content

chile lime creamed corn.

Ok, I’m really putting myself out here now:  you’ve seen my handwriting.

Maybe now you can appreciate why my friends and family mock me for having such awful chicken scratch.  Like maybe I was formerly in a gang, or never passed the 3rd grade in penmanship.  It’s remedial, for sure.  But between us, in this digital age I’ve started to not care, well except for those occasional times that I have letters returned to me because the poor post office can’t find my recipient’s address.

Moving on…

Here’s a new spin on creamed corn!  One that’s a little lighter, with a touch of the southwest thrown in.  I served it at our latest pre-summer bbq and it was a hit!  I’m sure it will be well-received at your house too (which is more than I can say for my handwriting…:)

Chile Lime Creamed Corn

(serves 10 as a delightful side dish)

What You’ll Need:

8 cups cooked corn, fresh, frozen or grilled for an even better flavor

2 large limes

4 tablespoons butter

sea salt

1 1/2 cups half and half or cream

1/4-1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

2 tablespoons diced green onions or chives

Instructions:

Grate the limes, slice them in half and juice them.

Melt the butter in a large pan set over medium-high heat.  Add the corn, about 2 tablespoons lime juice, and sea salt.  Stir to combine.  Reduce heat to medium and cook another 10-15 minutes, or there is no longer liquid at the bottom of the pan.

Stir in half and half or cream, cayenne pepper to taste, and all the lime zest.  Cook another 5-7 minutes, or until the corn has absorbed most of the liquid.  Salt to taste and stir in green onions or chives.

TOTAL:  $6.50 or $.65 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

170 calories per serving

8 grams of fat

25 carbs

4 grams protein

3 grams fiber

Did you give it a try?  Leave me a comment below or head over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Yum. And your handwriting is lovely!

    June 1, 2012
  2. Your writing looks like a scrapbooking font – it’s nice! Try being left-handed and writing on the board for kids. They criticize every letter formed wrong 😉 Yikes!

    June 1, 2012
  3. Wyndi Gelvin #

    Yum. Sounds like a great summer side dish! Gonna try that!

    June 6, 2012
  4. Amber #

    Loved this recipe and tasted great as leftovers too!

    July 26, 2012
    • YAY!! Let’s get together soon!

      July 26, 2012

Leave a Reply

