Skip to content

wine(ish) friday: summer sangria.

If you didn’t get the memo from my last week of posts, I’m totally into summer.

Totes.

First there was this chile lime creamed corn, then some bbq chicken with a garlic black bean sauce, and now…SANGRIA!  Because really, is there anything more befitting of summer than a fruity punch with a little somethin’-somethin’?  Now there may possibly have been a little experience at the grocery store involving Emma carrying a bottle of red wine to the checkout stand while I held Luke and 12 other items in my arms (I was totally planning here, obviously) and I imagine I was judged by just about every person over the age of 22 in the store…but…well…I’m sure it wasn’t the first time people had terrible thoughts about me in public.

So SANGRIA!  For this sangria I use cheap red wine (usually two buck chuck from Traders) and brandy, which I typically keep on hand to make my own vanilla and for an occasional recipe.  Plus some other traditional sangria goodies.  And I use sparkling water but if you’re into a sweeter drink try ginger ale!

For your consideration:  Summer Sangria

Here’s the recipe:

1 bottle (750 ml) of red wine of the fruity variety

1/4 cup brandy

1/4 cup sugar

2 lemons, sliced

2 oranges, sliced

2 limes, sliced

4 cups sparkling water (or ginger ale if you prefer a little sweeter)

ice cubes

Instructions:

Combine first 6 ingredients until sugar is dissolved.  Preferably, let sit for several hours before serving.

Once you are ready to serve, add the water or ginger ale and serve over ice.

Happy Friday!

One Comment Post a comment
  1. It’s fun to see what people put in their Sangria! I live 20 miles from the blueberry capital of the world (Hammonton, NJ), so we always have blueberries in ours. I bet in Georgia they use peaches 😉

    Happy Summer!

    June 9, 2012

Leave a Reply

