Skip to content

father’s day roundup.

The dads in my life totally rock.

My dad took me to breakfast every Saturday, even in my awkward years when I was a pain in the you-know-what and too cool for school.  Talking with me over breakfast might have been like talking to a slice of melon.

My husband Andrew should get a trophy for being a hands-on dad (currently he’s got some sweet trophies in his garage for showing cats as a kid, but they could use an upgrade).  Anyway, talk about low maintenance:  for Father’s Day his one request is meat (read: to him I’ve really gone above and beyond when not only does he get a steak but a card too!).  But this year is different…this year we’ll be meeting up with some no-name NFL player….let’s see…what’s his name?  Let me think…

Ah, now I remember…Tim Tebow.

No biggie.

Needless to say Andrew’s a little excited.  And I’m excited that he’s excited, because it’s his day and all he wanted in the first place was a hamburger!

Well let’s show the dads in our lives just how much we love them, through some good eats!

Here are some recipes from talented fellow food bloggers, and they’re just begging to be served to Dad this weekend:

Croque Madame French Toast Cups by Willow Bird Baking.

A little sweet.  A little salty.  A little somethin’ for everyone.

Chocolate Swirl Buns by Smitten Kitchen.

Deb, you’re my hero.  And my husband’s, too, by way of all your fantastic recipes.

Avocado Orzo with Garlicky Shrimp by Heather Christo.

Just yum.

Salad of Watercress, Feta, Almonds, Green Onions, Crispy Green Garlic, and Creme Fraiche by Dash and Bella.

Because salad is really about all the yummy toppings.

Momofuku’s Pulled Pork by Yummy Supper.

Because dads like meat.

Enjoy with warm tortillas and guac, or with bbq sauce and coleslaw on toasted brioche.

Coconut Cake with Berries and Cream by Shutterbean. 

Knock your Father’s Day meal out of the calorie ballpark with this irresistibly gorgeous cake.

Happy Father’s Day!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

