Skip to content

fig and gorgonzola crostini.

So the other night my husband and some friends were getting together for a guys night, and I was tasked with sending him off with some beer and an appetizer.  I bet you would thoughtfully support your loved one’s extracurricular activities with an appropriate manly dish…meatloaf sliders, 7 layer dip, hot wings…

Yep, I sent fig and gorgonzola crostinis.  I had been meaning to try a new appetizer recipe forever and here was my chance!

Poor Andrew.

Except a funny thing happened…he came home with an empty plate.

So I served them again the next night at our neighborhood’s Happy Hour.

Welcome to a new favorite throw-together appetizer.  What’s great is there are so many other things you can do with gorgonzola!  And I’m dreaming of the fig jam with fresh burrata or on a pizza with goat cheese and arugula.  Yum.

Fig and Gorgonzola Crostini

(a FFF original – makes approx. 24 crostinis)

What You’ll Need:

1 french baguette, sliced into 24 pieces

4-5 tablespoons olive oil

1/2 cup fig jam or fig butter

1/4 cup gorgonzola or blue cheese, sliced

Instructions:

Heat oven to 400F.

Place baguette slices on a cookie sheet and brush both sides with olive oil.  Bake until slices are golden, about 4 or 5 minutes per side.  Top with a dollop of fig jam and a slice of cheese.

TOTAL:  $4.60 or $.19 per crostini

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

98 calories per serving

3 grams of fat

15 carbs

2 grams protein

Did you give it a try?  Leave me a comment below or head over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. If I could survive off one kind of food for the rest of my life, it would be some combination of bread, cheese, olive oil, and butter. Definitely making this later.

    June 25, 2012
    • Thanks Jane! Agreed – carbs and dairy are a match made in heaven…

      June 26, 2012
  2. Susan #

    Sounds fantastic, Kelly! Fig jam is one of my new favorites. I always enjoy your recipes, photos and comments but especially love it when you do easy-breezy recipes like this — for those of us who really don’t cook all that much. You’re doing a great job with FFF — congratulations!

    June 26, 2012
    • Thanks Susan!! I’m so glad you found me. Fig jam is a new favorite for me too…can’t wait to try it on a pizza!

      June 26, 2012
  3. kelly #

    Hey Kelly, not sure if you’ll check this before tonight, but I’m making your cottage cheese pancakes for dinner and was wondering if you ever made them savory…like with cheese on top or anything?? 🙂

    June 26, 2012
    • Kelly I’m so sorry I just saw this now! I haven’t done anytime savory but I bet they would be great topped with roasted mushrooms, sun dried tomatoes, bacon, etc. Did you try them savory?

      June 27, 2012
  4. Heather #

    I made these little bits of heaven and they were delicious! Such a big party hit. But then a few days later I decided to make them again and I added some bacon and the flavors combined to out of this world status. Try it! YUMMMMMMMM,

    July 11, 2012
    • Oh my. Bacon would be incredible with it! I’ll have to give it a try, like yesterday.

      July 11, 2012
  5. Love the idea of these! Often we’ll do fig jam with just crackers and aged cheddar. Don’t think we’ve ever tried fig with Gorgonzola, and these look so yummy and elegant. Plus we have a young fig tree so in a year or so, we’ll be making our own fig preserves!

    July 24, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. What is Gorgonzola? « jovinacooksitalian

Leave a Reply

