Skip to content

summery corn and bacon pasta.

We’re rockin’ summer here like it’s nobody’s business.

  • First order of business, lemonade stand.
  • Second, swim lessons.
  • Third, Jack Johnson.
  • Fourth, fire up the grill and eat anything that comes off it with fruit salsa.
  • Fifth, camping.
  • Sixth, cleanse (I’ve never wanted a burger so much in my life….because actually I hate this cleanse.  And all raw fruits and veggies at the moment if you’re asking).

If you’re in the market for a tasty and different summery pasta, give this one a go!

Yes, there’s a bit of blending involved, but it makes the pasta worth every bite (well that and the smoked bacon)…

Cook up the corn, bacon and shallots and then combine with a creamy corn puree.

Forget you cleanse.  We’re parting ways.

I serve this one on a big platter, topped with basil and cheese. And maybe a glass of chilled chard on the side.

Very impressive.

Very good.

Very summer.

What are you doing this summer?  Do share…

Summery Corn and Bacon Pasta

(adapted from Rachael Ray’s Look + Cook – serves 6)

What You’ll Need:

1 pound pasta – fettuccine, spaghetti, linguini, whatever you have on hand and wheat or rice work well too

olive oil

6 slices of bacon, chopped

1 1/2 cups corn (I used previously frozen corn but roasted corn would be even better)

3 shallots, finely chopped

pepper

1 cup whole milk or half and half

1/2 cup chicken stock or dry white wine

a few dashes of hot sauce or a pinch or two of cayenne pepper

3 tablespoons chopped fresh italian parsley

1/2 cup grated Parmesan or Asiago cheese

1/2 cup chopped fresh basil

Instructions:

Boil water in a large pot for the paste.  Salt the water and cook pasta per package instructions.

Meanwhile, heat a large saucepan with a drizzle of olive oil over medium heat.  Add the bacon and cook for a few minutes to crisp up.  Add 1 cup corn to the bacon, then add shallots and season with salt and pepper.  Cook about 6-7 minutes or until tender.

Add 1/2 cup corn to the food processor and puree with the milk or half and half.  Stir the stock or wine to the corn mixture in the saucepan, reduce 2 minutes, then stir in the corn-milk mixture.  Reduce heat to a simmer and cook 3-4 minutes, stirring frequently, to thicken.  Add hot sauce or cayenne pepper and adjust salt and pepper.

Drain pasta, then toss with the sauce, parsley and half of the cheese.  Top with basil and remaining cheese.

TOTAL:  $8.85 or $1.48 per serving

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

392 calories per serving

14 grams of fat

50 carbs

16 grams protein

Did you give it a try?  Leave me a comment below or head over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

20 Comments Post a comment
  1. Looks delicious! Hope your cleanse is over soon 🙂 I supposed alcohol is not permitted, either? I think you need a little glass of something soon 😉

    June 28, 2012
    • You bet! Ok, well, true confessions: I’ve had a half glass or two. It’s juice, right?

      June 28, 2012
  2. kellypet79 #

    That looks VERY good! BTW, I tried the cottage cheese pancakes last night with melted cheese. They were AMAZING!! They are soooo gooey right off the griddle even before I put the cheese on top! I called them “cheese pancakes” because I didn’t think the words “cottage cheese” would get a good response from the kids. 🙂 They gobbled them up!! Thanks!

    June 28, 2012
    • Yay! What kind of cheese did you use?

      June 28, 2012
  3. Your killing me! This looks and sounds so amazing! Perfect for summer!

    June 28, 2012
    • Thanks Stephanie!! It was perfectly summer.

      June 29, 2012
  4. kelly #

    Kelly, I just used sharp cheddar on the pancakes. And you’ll think I’m gross, but I actually like them cold too! I’m just in love with these things. 🙂

    June 29, 2012
    • Wow! I wouldn’t have thought the cheddar would be good! So glad you enjoy them…they are so full of protein and yummy things that we eat them for breakfast, lunch and dinner too 🙂

      June 30, 2012
  5. I use your plans several times a month and here are the only two photo I have taken. The balsamic strawberry shortcake was slapped together and blackberries were added, so it doesn’t look like yours, but I’m sure it tasted the same!

    Um, how do I send the photos?
    Monica

    July 3, 2012
    • You can email me or send them on Facebook! email is thekellyhartman @ gmail.
      I can’t wait to see them! Blackberries would be divine!

      July 3, 2012
  6. Ashley #

    I made this last night! I used whole wheat linguini, and bulked up the sauce with some peas and zucchini that I already had on hand. It was absolutely delicious, I’ll definitely make it again!

    July 10, 2012
    • Ashley,
      What great additions! Love whole wheat pasta, and the extra veggies sound fabulous for extra nutrients. So glad you enjoyed it!
      K

      July 10, 2012
  7. Tara #

    I tried this recipe and enjoyed not only it’s flavor, but how easy it was. Thanks for sharing.

    July 11, 2012
    • Tara,
      Thanks for the feedback and the link love!! So glad you enjoyed it!
      K

      July 11, 2012
  8. mira yokoyama #

    I followed this recipe exact and the meal was a hit with our two boys and hubby, we had plenty of left overs. thank you.

    July 17, 2012
    • Mira I LOVE that you enjoyed this, and your 3 boys too 🙂 !

      July 17, 2012
  9. Amber #

    We really enjoyed this recipe. I used whole wheat pasta and added zucchini. Thanks!

    July 26, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Feast #2: Summery Corn and Bacon Pasta « 1Alive
  2. I’m-Disgusted-with-the-Grocery-Store Sweet Corn and Bacon Pasta « Rachel's Table

Leave a Reply

