Skip to content

blueberry lime crumb bars.

It was bliss…PURE BLISS, when I walked into the store several days ago and was reminded of the berry bonanza extravaganza that happens every year around this time.

Blackberries for $2!

Organic strawberries for $2.69!

Blueberries, 2 for $5!

Emma and I instantaneously became kids in a candy store – because we have had all sorts of baking and ice-creaming plans now that berries are in season.  First up:  blueberry lime crumb bars – deliciously delicate and mouthwatering bars that are full of fresh blueberries, with a hint of lime.

We opted for blueberries for these bars but I think blackberries or raspberries would be fantastic too!  I might even try rhubarb if I can work up the nerve…

I mean really, since there’s so much healthy fruit in this recipe, you can totally eat three one for breakfast.


Oh my stars.  Just thinking about these bars makes me want to get back in the kitchen and re-create them.   Except next time I’m SO doubling the recipe 🙂

Enjoy!

Blueberry Lime Crumb Bars

(adapted from Cooking Classy, makes 9-12 bars)

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

3/4 cup sugar, divided

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon lime zest

1 large egg yolk

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup butter, chilled and cut into cubes

2 teaspoons cornstarch

juice from 1 lime

2 cups fresh blueberries

1 1/2 tablespoons raw or white sugar

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 375.

Butter an 8×8 baking dish.

In a large bowl whisk together flour, 1/2 cup sugar, baking powder, salt and lime zest.  In a small mixing bowl, whisk together egg yolk and vanilla until combined.  Add egg mixture and cold butter cubes to the flour mixture and using a pastry cutter or your fingers, cut mixture together until it resembles course crumbs.  Press 2/3 of the mixture down in the bottom of the baking dish.

Separately, whisk together remaining 1/4 cup sugar and cornstarch.  Stir in lime juice and blueberries, then toss so that blueberries are evenly coated.  Spread blueberries evenly over the crust in the baking dish.  Sprinkle remaining crumb mixture over the berries (I formed small chunks of mixture together as I was sprinkling to make larger crumbs).  Sprinkle 1 1/2 tablespoons raw or white sugar over the topping, then bake 35-40 minutes or until top is golden brown.  Cool 20-30 minutes before slicing into squares.

TOTAL:  $6.04 or $.50 per serving

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

199 calories per serving (calculations based on 12 squares)

8 grams of fat

30 carbs

2 grams protein

1 gram fiber

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think or send me a pic if you tried it!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

16 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oh mmmmmmmmm Those look fabulous! I love summer fruit and blueberries top my list. Will definitely try these, thank you!

    July 2, 2012
    • They were SO delicious! Let me know what you think if you give them a try! Thanks!

      July 2, 2012
  2. Krista Barney #

    I love that your child loves baking already!!!!!

    July 2, 2012
    • It’s so fun baking together. Hope all is well!

      July 2, 2012
  3. These look so good. I have never thought about putting lime and blueberry together! You baking session though reminds me of mine with my daughter when she was young. Now as a college student, I don’t get those as often.

    Michelle
    http://www.indiegogo.com/bellegroveplantation

    July 2, 2012
    • I hope when Emma’s in college we’re still cooking together! What precious memories…

      July 2, 2012
  4. These look absolutely amazing! I will definitely be making these soon.

    July 2, 2012
    • They were simply divine! Enjoy!

      July 2, 2012
  5. 2 blueberries for $5, now that’s an awful deal :D. You’d at least expect a punnet for that. Joking aside, that does look properly nice, really delicious.

    July 2, 2012
    • Thanks! They were delicious. Hope you are enjoying the summer on your side of the world!

      July 2, 2012
  6. I made these and they are absolutely amazing!!! The lime is so perfect with the blueberries. Love love love this recipe. Yum!!! My husband said it’s one of his favorites now!

    July 3, 2012
    • Hooray! I’m always jazzed when hubbys are excited…

      July 3, 2012
  7. Dave #

    Blueberry stuff like this is great with coffee. Seriously–blueberry pie and coffee. Blueberry lime bars and coffee. All samey-same. I like my blueberry stuff cold, though. i never really liked it out of the oven and warm. nope. I like my blueberry stuff–pie, blueberry lime bars, etc.–to have a chill on them. I think that gives the berries a gooier mouthfeel and helps firm up the pastry some. Also, when your blueberry things are chilled won’t melt your ice cream as quickly. Blueberry things pretty much want vanilla ice cream, you know? Blueberry lime bars right out of the ‘fridge, topped with good vanilla bean ice cream with a nice cup of coffee. Or pie. Hell, just cut open a can of blueberry pie filling, spread some on a graham cracker with a couple of spoons of ice cream and there you go. Lots of people don’t really care about appearances. they’re just after the flavor. It’s like with carnivores who tease vegetarians about “missing” meat or something. The fact is it’s not the meat, man. it’s where you put the ice cream. And I’m talking about fresh, whole milk vanilla bean ice cream on some blueberry stuff from the refrigerator. Because that’s how I roll. Boom. Whaaaaat?!

    July 5, 2012
    • Wow, Dave…you really have some thoughts on the matter don’t you? … 🙂 Love me some blueberries with ice cream too. The fancier ice cream the better too 🙂

      July 5, 2012
  8. This looks ridiculously good! I am going to have to try this!!! Thanks Kelly!

    July 6, 2012

Leave a Reply

