Skip to content

peanut butter ice cream with salted caramel and dark chocolate (aka heaven).

I’m bit by the homemade ice cream bug every year around this time.  I dunno – I think it’s the weather mixed with weird childhood memories of block parties and 4th of July potlucks and my family’s old school rock salt ice cream maker.  Well anyway last year I tried this dark cherry chocolate chip and this year I thought I would give this candy bar-inspired recipe a try.  Peanut butter ice cream meets homemade salted caramel sauce and dark chocolate shavings.  

Pure heaven.

Homemade ice cream is really so much easier than you might think.  For this recipe, blend up half and half with peanut butter, sugar, salt and vanilla.  Then stick it in the freezer, and once cold, into your ice cream maker.

Next, make the salted caramel sauce.  Cream, butter, sugar and salt.  Divine.


Add the caramel sauce and dark chocolate shavings to the ice cream, then freeze a little more and you’re set!

I seem to have abandoned any and all discipline that I may have shown in this healthy summer salad post or my last 2 weeks of detoxing with fruits and vegetables….

But hey, it’s summer…and I blame my childhood 🙂

Peanut Butter Ice Cream with Salted Caramel and Dark Chocolate

(inspired by Serious Eats, and makes 1 quart)

2 3/4 cups half and half

1 cup crunchy natural peanut butter

1 1/4 cups white sugar, divided

1 teaspoon salt, divided

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

4 tablespoons unsalted butter

3 tablespoons cream

2 ounces dark chocolate, chilled in the freezer, and then chopped

Instructions:

In a blender or food processor, combine half and half, peanut butter, 3/4 cup sugar, 1/2 teaspoon salt and vanilla.  Blend until combined, then transfer to an airtight container and place in the freezer for 2 hours or until very cold.

Churn ice cream in your ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions.

While ice cream is churning, heat 1/2 cup sugar with just enough water to moisten in a saucepan.  Cook on high until sugar dissolves, then boils and caramelizes.  Swirl the pan while sugar is caramelizing to correct and hot spots.  When sugar turns dark amber in color and smells smokey, quickly whisk in the butter until incorporated.  Turn off heat, and add remaining 1/2 teaspoon salt and cream.  Caramel sauce will bubble up when you whisk – that’s normal!  Once caramel sauce is cool to the touch, taste and add more salt if needed.

Transfer ice cream to a large bowl, stir in dark chocolate pieces, then fold in the caramel sauce by distributing it in a thin swirl.  Work quickly and constantly to insure even distribution.  Transfer ice cream to an airtight container and freeze several hours, or until ready to serve.

TOTAL:  $5.25 or $.66 per serving

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

511 calories per serving (calculations based on 8 servings)

33 grams of fat

46 carbs

11 grams protein

2 grams fiber

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think or send me a pic if you tried it!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

13 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mitzi Kelly #

    Seriously making this when I can have dairy again! Sounds wonderfully delicious.

    July 5, 2012
    • This is one to splurge on, let me tell you…and this coming from a girl who hasn’t eaten dairy for the last 2 weeks 🙂

      July 6, 2012
  2. I just don’t even kow what to say…it really looks and sounds like heaven!

    July 5, 2012
    • I can’t even explain how good this recipe was. And while I know heaven will be indescribable, this ice cream was pretty dang good too:)

      July 6, 2012
  3. This sounds and looks so delicious! I don’t have an ice-cream maker, but I really need to get one with all these yummy ice-cream recipes I keep finding.

    July 5, 2012
  4. These flavors sound wonderful together, Kelly.

    July 6, 2012
  5. Wow. Yum. Wow. :). I also have ice cream on the brain at this time of year, and you’re right that it’s so easy to make at home! I should be doing it more. 🙂

    July 6, 2012
  6. This sounds so yum!!

    July 6, 2012
  7. elizabethstevenssocialmedia #

    I just made raspberry ice cream last week and I’ve been looking for a new recipe to try. This looks great. Thanks!

    July 17, 2012
    • This one is (sinfully) delicious. Hope you enjoy.

      July 17, 2012

Leave a Reply

