Skip to content

quinoa stuffed bell peppers.

And so my love affair with quinoa continues…

As I was transitioning back into the world of eating after doing a 2 week cleanse (and here I pause, wondering if I even dare share this information since 2 or 3 people out there consider me an actual food blogger, which is really incorrect anyway since I’m just faking it till I make it…that food blogger is doing a cleanse?  talk about lazy…get back in the kitchen!), I stumbled upon this recipe for bell peppers stuffed with quinoa, walnuts, feta and parsley.  It sounded light and I assumed that it would agree with my post-cleanse stomach which I’m fairly certain was about 1/3 of its original size (a correct assumption I’m happy to report – again, maybe too much information?).

I’m a bigtime fan of quinoa – and even more of a fan of combining it with walnuts, sauteed onions and parsley.

Stuff the quinoa into the bell peppers, pop them the oven, go chat with your neighbors, then come back and top with a little more cheese…

And you’re good to go with a vegetarian dish that’s fresh, light, full of protein and easy in the fat and calories department.

What do you think about quinoa?  Let’s hear it…

Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers

(quite loosely adapted from Everyday Food Light – serves 4)

What You’ll Need:

4 bell peppers

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 teaspoon italian seasoning

salt and pepper

1 cup quinoa, rinsed

1 cup water

1/2 cup fresh italian parsley, coarsely chopped

1/2 cup toasted walnuts, coarsely chopped

1/2 cup crumbled feta

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 450F.

Slice a very thin layer from the base of each bell pepper so that it sits upright.  Slice off the top, just below the stem, and remove the ribs and seeds from the top.  Discard all stems, tops and bottoms.

In a medium saucepan, heat oil over medium.  Add onions, garlic, italian seasoning and salt and pepper.  Cook, stirring occasionally, until onion has softened, about 5 minutes.

Add quinoa and cook, stirring, until fragrant (1 minute).  Add water and bring to a boil.  Reduce to a simmer, cover and cook until the water has been absorbed and quinoa is tender, about 11-13 minutes.  Remove from heat.  Stir in parsley, nuts and 1/2 of the feta.  Season with salt and pepper.

Divide quinoa evenly among the peppers.  Place in a baking dish.  Cover with foil and bake until peppers are tender, about 1 hour.  Uncover and top with remaining feta.  Bake until cheese melts, about 10 minutes more.  Serve warm.

TOTAL:  $4.85 or $1.21 per serving
Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

390 calories per serving

17 grams of fat

42 carbs

16 grams protein

6 grams fiber

Did you give it a try?  Leave me a comment below or head over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. Gee Wiz you sure sound like a food blogger. Thanks for sharing. I will read you anyways.

    July 11, 2012
  2. I absolutely ADORE quinoa! This looks and sounds like such a great recipe! I’ll be trying it out very soon as an alternative to “my” quinoa stuffed peppers, the recipe for which can be found here! http://letseathealthier.wordpress.com/2012/06/11/quinoa-stuffed-peppers/

    July 11, 2012
  3. Great idea! I have some quinoa in the pantry that is waiting for inspiration – think I found it here 🙂

    July 11, 2012
    • Thanks Jennifer! Quinoa is one of those things I often forget about, and then I’m so glad when I make it…especially since it’s so versatile.

      July 11, 2012
  4. wendy #

    What do you do for your cleanse? Is it like a detox thing? I’ve been considering doing a detox but I’m still nursing my baby so have to be careful : ) Thanks for the recipe, it’s unique…I’ll definitely try this one!

    July 11, 2012
    • Hi Wendy! Yes, it was a detox but you should wait until you’re done nursing! I did a 2 week fruits and vegetables cleanse, with a herbal/supplement kit I got at our local Sprouts. I felt so good after doing it that I think I’ll do it once a year. And now that I’ve detoxed, off to vacation!…:)

      July 12, 2012
  5. Yum, I love quinoa and this sounds like a yummy, healthy way to prepare it.

    July 16, 2012
  6. Love quinoa – such a great alternative to rice. It’s also delicious as a sweet treat with apples and cinnamon.

    July 17, 2012
  7. Ashley #

    I have these in the oven right now – I needed 2 cups of water to fully cook the quinoa, even rinsed. I’m excited to taste the finished product!!

    July 28, 2012
    • Thanks so much for the feedback about the water! Let me know what you think.

      July 28, 2012
      • smashleypdx #

        They were delicious! Hubby ate 3. That’s saying a LOT – he’s a ‘meat and potatoes’ guy.

        July 28, 2012

Leave a Reply

