Skip to content

5 fresh dishes, each less than $1.50 per serving.

So I woke up 2 days ago with an ulcer in my eye.  That’s right, an ulcer.  If you wake up feeling like someone shoved a fork in your eye, which gets only worse with light, you might possibly have an ulcer.  Now don’t quote me on that…I’m not an ophthalmologist.  But I saw 2 on Friday so I feel like one.  Anyway…7 hours, 3 doctors, and a teeny tiny $130 bottle of prescription antibiotic eye drops later, I was back in business.  No biggie.

But don’t you just hate it when you have those “ugh” moments that set you back precious time and hard-earned dollars?  Car troubles, parking tickets, dog accidentally eats chocolate, cell phone falls in the oven (I won’t name names but that may have happened in the Hartman home…).

Well fortunately for you I’ve got 5 dishes that won’t break the bank!  Take a look…

1. Grilled Lime Chicken with Black Bean Sauce

Total Cost per Serving: $1.40

2.  Potato Frittata with Rosemary and Feta

Total Cost per Serving:  $.64 (yes, you read that right)

3.  Summery Corn and Bacon Pasta

Total Cost per Serving:  $1.48

4.  Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers

Total Cost per Serving:  $1.21

5.  Maple Oat Pancakes

Total Cost Per Serving:  $.70

Of course these costs are based on the food item costs as included in this spreadsheet where I reveal my inner nerd and break down what I pay per item, and where I find the best deal for each.  Check it out!

Join the Community on Facebook

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Thanks so much for posting these. Yes, those unexpected expenses pop up, but it doesn’t mean you can’t eat healthy and affordably, and tasty! Thanks again. Hope your eye is better.

    July 30, 2012
    • Thanks. Don’t those unexpected expenses just kill you?!

      July 30, 2012
  2. How in the world does one get an ulcer in the eye (so that I can try to avoid this fate)! It sounds horribly painful – and yikes on the huge bill for the eye drops! I hope you get better soon, just so that you won’t have to buy any more for medication. These are great ideas and they’re all foods that I love to eat. Thanks for the list.

    July 30, 2012
    • Who knew, right? I wear contacts and this happens often to contact wearers. Something about an abrasion on the eye…no fun. Thanks!

      July 30, 2012
  3. changeforbetterme #

    all of these look great! Extra bonus that they don’t cost much….and I hope you get to feeling better soon

    July 30, 2012
  4. Sorry about your eye! Thanks for the great ideas. I think the last photo is pancakes, though, not Mexican salad.

    August 3, 2012
  5. actually, I clicked on the Mexican salad link and it goes to the stuffed peppers. Must be your eye bothering you 🙂

    August 3, 2012
    • Thank you!! I’ll update. So glad you caught that!

      August 3, 2012

Leave a Reply

