Skip to content

tandoori chicken kabobs with peach chutney.

Hmmm…let’s see.  What do I want to talk about for this post?

Maybe people would think it’s funny that I just inherited 27 partially used candles from my mother.

Or that my son felt up a woman (not his first time) at the Target checkout.

Or that I watch the Olympics and desperately wish my short-lived gymnastics dream had worked out, short lived because I starting sprouting 2 grades before all my friends and have little no coordination. 

I wonder if anyone can relate to making a valiant attempt at being gluten or dairy-free, and giving up after 43 minutes.

This is what happens when I sit down to write a post.  About 13 different story lines or quasi interesting topics flood my brain and then I just regurgitate into the keyboard (sorry, this is a food blog.  my bad).

True story.

Moving on…

Yep, that’s my beloved Cuisinart processor making an appearance again – but you could use a blender too for this tandoori marinade – toss in garlic, jalapenos, ginger, lime juice and yogurt.

Bam.  Marinade.

Now for the chutney…have you ever made it before?  This was my first time, and it was so easy and super flavorful!  Just a little chopping, some sauteing and you’ve got this amazingly sweet, tart and spicy (read: not hot, just a great combo of tastes) topping for meats and poultry.

A few minutes on the barby and these kabobs are good to go!  Or you can broil them too if your bbq is on its last leg as ours is, or if you should choose to give this one a try in the dead of winter.  It will still be great!

Serve with a little rice and a side salad or veggie and you’ll have an easy crowdpleaser!

Tandoori Chicken Kabobs with Peach Chutney

(quite loosely adapted from Everyday Food Light – serves 4)

What You’ll Need:

For the chicken:

Juice from 1 lime

4 garlic cloves

1 piece fresh ginger (about 2 inches)

1 cup plain yogurt (I use greek)

2 jalapeno chiles, seeded and chopped (optional)

1 1/2-2 pounds boneless skinless chicken breasts

salt and pepper

For the chutney:

1 1/2 pounds peaches

1 tablespoon olive oil

1/2 cup chopped onion

2 garlic cloves. minced

1/8-1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (optional)

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

3 tablespoons sugar

1/3 cup dried cherries

salt and pepper

Instructions:

For the chicken:

In a blender or food processor, puree lime juice, garlic, ginger, and chiles (if using). Add yogurt and blend until smooth.

Cube chicken breasts and thread on 4 skewers.  Arrange skewers in a nonmetallic dish, pour marinade over, and turn to coat.  Cover and refrigerate at least 2 hours or up to overnight, turning several times.

Turn on grill to high and lightly oil grates.*  Place skewers on the grill and cover.  Cook, turning occasionally, until grill marks are visible on the chicken and it is no longer pink in the center (about 6-8 minutes).

*Alternatively, you can broil the kabobs for about the same amount of time.  Just keep an eye on them as they can easily char if left near the broiler too long.

For the chutney:

Peel, pit, and cut peaches into 1/2-inch chunks.  Set aside. Heat oil in a small saucepan over medium heat. Cook onion until soft, 5 minutes. Add garlic and red-pepper flakes and cook 1 minute.

Stir in vinegar, sugar, and cherries; season to taste with salt and pepper. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer until syrupy, about 5 minutes.

Add peaches and simmer until soft, 5 to 10 minutes. Mash up the peaches slightly, and thin with 2 to 4 tablespoons water, if needed. Cool completely. Serve with grilled meat or poultry.

TOTAL:  $8.35 or $2.09 per serving
Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

422 calories per serving (based on full fat yogurt)

17 grams of fat

30 carbs

37 grams protein

3 grams fiber

Did you give it a try?  Leave me a comment below or head over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Community on Facebook

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. This looks delicious. I love Indian. So do my kids. And it’s bbq so it’s perfect for summer. Just found you recently and loving your blog!

    August 2, 2012
    • I think the kiddos will enjoy this one! Thank you!

      August 2, 2012

Leave a Reply

