Skip to content

nanaberry toast.

If only I had it in me to rise at the crack of dawn each morning like Ma Ingalls and offer my kids freshly baked bread and scrambled eggs I gathered from the organic hen house.

Real life:  my precious and ferociously hungry kids make sure I know they’re awake and ready to eat by 6:30am each morning, and I hunt for my glasses, stumble out of bed and pour them a bowl of cereal with milk while I patiently anxiously wait for my coffee to brew.

Can you relate?

But oh my!

Last week we had a ripe banana, some strawberries and greek yogurt that needed to be put to use so Emma and I whipped up this fabulously kid-friendly breakfast (or snack!).

I gave her the role Head Masher and she took her new title quite seriously, mashing up the strawberries and banana into the yogurt like she had something to prove.

And then she (and Luke) gobbled down their toast and asked for more!  I was jazzed because they got protein from the greek yogurt and yummy fruit too.  You could even make extra yogurt and save it for snacking later, topping it with a little granola or more fruit.

Nanaberry…it’s totally a thing 🙂

Just go with it.

Nanaberry Toast

(a FFF original – makes 4 full slices)

4 slices whole wheat bread

1/4 cup plain greek yogurt

1/2 cup sliced strawberries, divided

1 ripe banana, sliced

Instructions:

In a medium bowl place yogurt, 1/4 cup strawberries and sliced banana.  Mash together (or let your kiddos do the mashing – they’ll be in heaven).

Prepare toast.  Top toast with 1-2 spoonfuls of the yogurt mixture, and then top with more sliced strawberries.

TOTAL:  $1.72 or $.43 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

117 calories per serving

2 grams of fat

20 carbs

5 grams protein

3 grams fiber

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think or send me a pic if you tried it!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sounds delish! We’ll have to try it … on homemade bread!

    August 6, 2012
    • Oh yum! You’ll have to share that homemade bread recipe!

      August 7, 2012
  2. Great use of early morning “child energy” (where do they get that stuff?). Adding this to my list of things to do with an overripe banana. Thanks!

    August 6, 2012
    • Great! Thanks for the feedback, as always!

      August 7, 2012
  3. Great post! Love the fact you are getting your daughter involved in the kitchen!

    August 6, 2012

Leave a Reply

