Skip to content

dutch baby + sauteed apples + cheese.

Husband coming home late = pancakes for dinner.

…Not that I’m trying to encourage the kids to rejoice in Dad coming home late; it’s more that I’m just not as motivated to cook a full meal when it’s just me and the kids.  It was the same thing when I was single, when often a three day-old muffin and two slices of turkey sufficed as dinner.

Can you relate?

So last week Andrew had a late meeting and since the kids turn into strange little monsters if they don’t eat by 6pm, I decided to whip up a dutch baby, with a twist.  Have you had a dutch baby, sometimes called a German pancake?  You make a batter that’s thin like a crepe batter, cook it a little on the stove, then finish it in the oven where it puffs up into this beautiful pancake that you ooh and aah over for about 30 seconds, until it immediately loses its drama and flattens out.

The batter is super simple – eggs, milk, flour and sugar.

Part of what makes this recipe especially good is that you melt a little butter on the bottom of the pan before cooking the pancake, making the finished dutch baby rich and buttery.  I will have you know, however, that I use about half the amount normally called for in traditional dutch baby recipes 🙂

Ok, so maybe I put the extra butter in these apples, sauteeing them with some brown sugar, raisins and a splash of brandy just for kicks (raisins and brandy are totally your call, I thought they were awesome).

Pull that baby out of the oven, top with sauteed apples, take it over the top with grated parmesan or smoked mozzarella cheese, and finish with a squeeze of lemon and dust of powdered sugar.

You’ll thank me, I promise.  And I say this with confidence because I literally moved the pan out of my kids’ sight so that they wouldn’t eat the entire thing themselves.  It was outrageously good!

Dutch Baby with Apples and Cheese

(a FFF original – serves 4)

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons sugar

2 large eggs, at room temperature

4 tablespoons butter, divided

1 large apple, peeled, cored and sliced thin

1/4 cup raisins (optional)

3 tablespoons brown sugar

splash of brandy (optional)

1/4 cup grated cheese of choice (I used asiago but parmesan, gruyere, even a smoked mozzarella would be great)

lemon juice and powdered sugar

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 425F.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the milk, flour, sugar and eggs until combined.

Separately, melt 2 tablespoons butter in an ovenproof skillet (preferably cast iron) over medium heat.  Tilt pan so the butter coats the sides.  Pour egg mixture into the skillet and cook, without stirring, for 1 minute.  Place skillet in the oven and bake until pancake is puffed up and golden, about 12-15 minutes.

While pancake is cooking, melt 2 tablespoons butter in a small skillet or saucepan.  Add apples, raisins (if using), brown sugar, and splash of brandy (of using).  Cook, stirring often, for about 5-7 minutes, or until apples are soft but not soggy.

Remove pancake from the oven, top immediately with apple mixture, then add cheese.  Enjoy as is, or top with lemon juice and powdered sugar or maple syrup.  Pancake will lose its puff, and therefore its drama, almost immediately so you’ll want to serve right away.

TOTAL:  $2.46 or $.62 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

346 calories per serving

17 grams of fat

42 carbs

9 grams protein

2 grams fiber

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think or send me a pic if you tried it!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love dutch babies and I think your Brandy addition is likely right up my alley 🙂 Thanks for sharing your recipe!

    August 23, 2012
  2. I’ve never made this – will have to give it a try. It’s definitely something that even my picky teenager would eat!

    August 23, 2012
  3. I totally relate – when my husband works later hours I hate to make a full meal for just me and the kids – and they definitely can’t wait for him to get home. So we do breakfast for dinner alot – this recipe looks great and would be a really nice change of pace from regular pancakes!

    August 23, 2012
    • Love breakfast for dinner – enjoy!

      August 23, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 7 tasty ways to celebrate Labor Day | Smart Living Blog

Leave a Reply

