Skip to content

coffee s’mores pie.

Yes indeedy.

This here’s a sophisticated take on the classic campfire recipe.  A touch of chocolate in the graham cracker crust, hints of coffee in a rich ganache, all topped with toasted meringue.  You won’t be disappointed, I promise…unless you simply can’t stand coffee or chocolate.  In that case, I’ll just say you’re missing out and then direct you to take a look at the many other dessert recipes I’ve shared.

Because as you know my crush on all things s’mores has been lived out on this blog through mini s’mores tarts and peanut butter s’mores hand pies.  But this feels like the perfect end-of-summer treat before we blaze into fall, with its slow-cooked meats, richly flavored stews, oven-roasted veggies and apples and pears oh my!

Start with a graham cracker crust, with a little melted chocolate thrown in for good measure 🙂

Got chocolate chips, butter, cream and coffee?

Good, you’ve got ganache.

Now here’s the part where I show you  just how miserly frugal I really am:  I don’t actually have a “fine mesh sieve” so instead I strained the coffee grinds with a tea strainer.  Yeah, that’s how I roll…

Here’s the pie, before getting toasted.  You can use a kitchen torch or broiler.  Just remember to pop in the fridge for a while to set after torching it.  Otherwise it will get all gooey and hard to serve (read:  I did this.  avoid my misery).

This little slice sat on this pretty plate about 2 minutes while I popped a few shots…

Then it was gone.

Devoured.

Not a crumb left.

And I still wanted s’more 🙂

Coffee S’mores Pie

(adapted from Bon Appetit Magazine’s July 2012 issue, serves 8)

For the crust:

12 whole graham crackers, ground finely in a food processor

3 tablespoons cream

1 ounce semisweet chocolate, melted

3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

For the Coffee Ganache:

11 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into cubes

1 1/4 cups cream

2 tablespoons finely ground coffee beans

For the Meringue:

2 large egg whites

1/2 cup sugar

Instructions:

For the crust:

Mix graham cracker crumbs and remaining ingredients in a small bowl to blend.  Press mixture onto bottom and up sides of pie dish; chill until crust is firm, about 30 minutes.

For the ganache:

Place chocolate and butter in a large bowl.  Bring cream, coffee, and 2 tablespoons water to a boil in a small saucepan.  Remove from heat, cover and let steep for 5 minutes.

Strain cream mixture through a fine-mesh sieve into bowl with chocolate and butter; discard coffee grounds.  Stir until melted and ganache is smooth.  Pour into chilled crust and chill about 1 hour, or until set.

For the meringue:

Using an electric mixer with clean, dry beaters on medium speed, beat egg whites in a medium bowl until light and frothy.  Add sugar slowly, beating well until stiff and glossy.

Spoon meringue over coffee ganache; swirl decoratively with a spatula or the back of a spoon.  Using a kitchen torch or broiler (if using a broiler, place on a cookie sheet so that the pie isn’t heated through from the bottom), toast meringue until golden brown.

TOTAL:  $7.67 or $.96 per serving

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

369 calories per serving

21 grams of fat

44 carbs

2 grams protein

3 grams fiber

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think or send me a pic if you tried it!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

15 Comments Post a comment
  1. why do you do this to me?

    August 28, 2012
    • Taylor – I ask myself that all the time too! This was a “cheat” meal for sure (I get 2 a week). But SO worth.

      August 29, 2012
  2. Yes! This looks perfect. One slice, please.

    August 28, 2012
    • Coming right up! Enjoy!

      August 29, 2012
  3. yum!

    August 28, 2012
  4. Yes, indeedy. That looks great!

    August 28, 2012
  5. I squealed a bit as I was reading this post and devouring that coffee s’mores pie with my eyes. Your pie looks freaking amazing – I love the coffee spin on this classic treat.

    August 29, 2012
    • I’m not one to brag but this was dang good!!!

      August 29, 2012
      • Go ahead and brag! Anyone who creates something this delicious deserves to 😉

        August 29, 2012
  6. I. want. this. Unfortunately I’m probably the only one in my family who would eat it, and I feel like if I make something like this I want to at least be able to pretend that I’m making it to indulge my children. 🙂

    August 29, 2012
    • Oh of course! Well that’s where good friends who love chocolate come in…:)

      August 29, 2012
  7. Truly I can’t think of anything that would make this better – except maybe a second slice!

    August 31, 2012
    • …or a third. It was so good.

      August 31, 2012
  8. Wyndi Gelvin #

    Gonna make this today. Oh my that looks AWESOME!!
    It looks like you have your kids help? That is too fun. my oldest is quite interested in helping cook these days. Love your recipes!

    August 31, 2012
    • Some of the most fun I have with Emma is when we’re cooking in the kitchen together.
      Enjoy! And let me know what you think!

      August 31, 2012

Leave a Reply

