Skip to content

homemade chunky applesauce.

Yep.

Kickin’ it Ma Ingalls style again this week, ya’ll.

Here was my experiment:  can I make homemade organic applesauce for less than I pay for the jarred stuff?

Well you’ll just have to keep reading to find out how my little experiment turned out…

Caveat #1 (which is really an no-brainer):  you have to wash, peel, core and cut up a bunch of apples.

Fair warning.

Cook down apples with water, lemon juice, cinnamon and a little agave nectar or honey…

…then take out your aggressions on those apples with a good mash.

And now for the results of my little experiment:

  • It took me about 30 minutes to make the applesauce (peeling, slicing and chopping apples, then cooking).  On the other hand it takes about 5 seconds to locate said applesauce on the shelf and add it to my cart (a plus for jarred!).
  • Homemade was in our opinion a lot tastier than jarred (a plus for homemade!).
  • Total cost (for 6 servings) was $3.07 versus $2.29 for the jarred version (a plus for jarred!).

SO…while it was a great recipe to make with the kids and a tasty version of the premade stuff, I think I’ll typically stick to buying my organic applesauce pre-made.  BUT, if you’re interested in giving it a try, give this recipe a go for a tasty and healthy snack!  It lasted no time at all at our house, as we ate it plain, with yogurt, ice cream, granola, you name it…

Homemade Chunky Applesauce

(makes 6 servings or 3 cups)

5 apples, peeled, cored, and cut into small cubes

1 cup water

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1 tablespoon agave nectar or honey

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Instructions:

Combine apples, water and lemon juice in a medium saucepan.  Bring to a boil over medium-high heat.  Reduce heat and simmer, stirring occasionally, until apples are soft (about 15 minutes).

Stir in agave or honey and cinnamon.  Simmer for 1 minute.  Transfer to a bowl and set aside to cool slightly.

Using a potato masher or similar kitchen utensil, smash apples into a chunky sauce.  Transfer to a sealable jar.  Cover and refrigerate.

TOTAL:  $3.07 or $.52 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

90 calories per serving

0 grams of fat

24 carbs

0 grams protein

4 grams fiber

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think or send me a pic if you tried it!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. DreadPirateRogers #

    But the homemade stuff tastes so much better than the jarred stuff. I’ll only buy jarred stuff for baking. If I want to eat applesauce, I’m making it myself.

    August 31, 2012
    • Agreed! Homemade is so much better. And kuddos to you for regularly making your own!

      August 31, 2012
  2. So, this might not make sense for you if you’re only making small batches, but I bought a used stainless food mill very cheaply and it strains out the seeds and cores (and most of the peels). This is a huge time-saver; I can just wash and quarter the apples before cooking them down. You might consider looking for one if you think you’d like to make applesauce more often!

    August 31, 2012
    • What a great idea! I’ll take a look for a mill, and make a larger batch next time!

      August 31, 2012
  3. I’ve noticed that apples are very expensive right now. I recently paid $5.99 for bag (11 apples), and they weren’t even organic! I think once the local apple harvest comes in, the cost for this recipe will go down. But you still have to factor your time into the cost, too. How valuable is a half-hour to you? I can understand why you would choose jarred over homemade. These are the kind of tough choices we moms have to make!

    August 31, 2012
    • I bought our apples on sale for $1.29/lb but that was for maybe 3. I loved how it tasted but you’re right, sometimes it’s just easier to go with pre-made.

      August 31, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Homemade Applesauce « Life As Mom Knows It

Leave a Reply

