Skip to content

wine friday: 1967 toscana blend.

I love Italy.

It’s made for wine-lovers.

And foodies.

And I happen to think I’m a little of both.

My love affair with Italy began in 2002 when my mom sprung for us to take a post-college graduation trip to Europe, where Italy was one of 3 countries we visited and decidedly my favorite.  I loved it so much that Andrew and I saved our pretty pennies and splurged on a 1-year anniversary trip, hitting up Florence, Tuscany and Cinque Terre over the course of a week (far too short if you ask me).

But one of the things I loved about Italy was their dirt-cheap table wine.  I could be wrong but I remember it being just a little more than a soda.  It wasn’t always phenomenal but usually quite tasty and always local to the region, and that I really liked.

Have you been to Italy?  I’d love to hear your favorite places…

And so today I have an Italian table wine for you, one that’s great for a weeknight glass…fruity, soft and smooth.

For your consideration:  1967 Toscana Blend

Part Sangiovese (85%), part Cabernet (10%) and Syrah (5%), you’ll enjoy this one with pizza or pasta.

$4.99 at Trader Joes.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sienna was by far my favorite place. Medieval walled city with stunning views of the country side. But for food, I can still remember the exact taste of some of the dishes in Florence, especially the pork rague.

    September 8, 2012
    • I only spent a few hours in Siena but LOVED it! My husband and I ended up touring the Tuscany region over 3 days…there was so much to see!

      September 8, 2012
  2. Ah, it’s been nearly 15 years since I’ve been to Italy, but I’d go back to just about anyplace I visited there. Siena is gorgeous, Cinque Terre was beautiful. I loved Capri and Taormina in Sicily. As for food, I loved all of it. Pizza. The white pizza with potatoes and rosemary. Mmm. And gelato, any flavor.

    September 8, 2012
    • Oh heaven, the pizza and gelato.
      I think I gained a few pounds just thinking about it 🙂 Can’t wait to return and visit the South too!

      September 8, 2012
  3. Does Italy at Walt Disney World’s Epcot count? lol! It’s my dream to visit Italy some day, along with Paris!

    September 10, 2012
    • Oh totally. Epcot totally counts 🙂

      September 11, 2012

Leave a Reply

