Skip to content

dark chocolate coconut granola.

Please don’t leave me alone too long with this granola.  I beg you.

You know those foods that sit around your kitchen, staring at you, teasing you, imploring you to take just one little bite?  And then you cave and before long there simply isn’t anything left in the box or bag or carton or jar.  Starbucks ice cream comes to mind, as do those evil peanut butter pretzels.

Get behind me satan!

I’ve made granola about a thousand different ways over the years, with quite a few successes and failures, but this recipe might just be my new favorite.  It’s sophisticated, not too sweet, coconutty and totally addictive.  And of course there’s the chocolate; I don’t care what you say, chocolate should so totally go in granola.

There are 6 ingredients in this granola, and you might just have most of them lying around.  I included coconut oil for extra taste and because I’m on a coconut oil kick, but you could substitute canola too if needed.

Also, yes, to answer your question:  I kind of like Trader Joes 🙂

Heat up the honey and oil, then pour over the dry ingredients.

Who says you can’t enjoy a little chocolate in the morning?

Dark Chocolate Coconut Granola

(adapted from Orangette, makes about 5 cups or 10 servings)

3 cups oats

1/2 cup almonds, chopped

1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

salt, to taste

5 tablespoons honey

2 tablespoons coconut oil

1/4-1/2 cup chopped dark chocolate

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 300F.

In a large bowl combine oats, almonds, coconut and a dash of salt.

In a small saucepan, whisk together honey and oil over medium heat until combined.    Pour over dry ingredients and stir well to combine.

Spread mixture evenly on a rimmed baking sheet.  Bake for 20 minutes, or until golden.  Stir granola halfway through cooking to insure it cooks evenly.

Once granola has cooled completely, add chocolate and mix well.  Store in an airtight container.  But let’s be honest…this granola isn’t going to last long so you won’t have to worry about it spoiling 🙂

TOTAL:  $5.17 or $.52 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

206 calories per serving

8 grams of fat

30 carbs

5 grams protein

3 grams fiber

Mosey on over to Facebook and let me know what you think or send me a pic if you tried it!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. love this. love TJs. love your blog.

    September 14, 2012
    • love x 3. Thanks Audrey!

      September 14, 2012
  2. This sounds so good! I’ve never used coconut oil in granola and suddenly I’m wondering why not….

    September 15, 2012
  3. Jen wheeler #

    This is SO good and so easy! I used the new coconut chips from Trader Joe’s! Yum.

    September 22, 2012
    • Yum! I’ll have to try it with the TJ’s chips. Glad you liked it!

      September 24, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Peach-Almond Granola « Andrea's Garden Cooking

Leave a Reply

