Skip to content

strawberry basil bruschetta.

If I could have a best foodie friend (BFF), it would be goat cheese.  I’ve been known to eat it at every meal, scrambling it into my morning eggs, tossing a little in a chicken salad  for lunch, or throwing some on top of an arugula pizza for dinner.  I’ll never get tired of goat cheese.   This is a friendship that has stood the test of time.

So why not combine a little goat cheese with strawberries, basil and toasted baguette slices?  Oh my goodness it’s a match made in heaven.

Alright, peeps,  listen up:  our strawberry-eating days are numbered so grab the last of the summer berries and wow your friends, family and neighbors or your boss and his wife, with this bruschetta!

Now that I’ve shared my best foodie friend with you, what’s your BFF?

Strawberry Basil Bruschetta

(approx. 12 pieces)

What You’ll Need:

1 pound strawberries, stems removed and chopped into bite-sized pieces

2 tablespoons sugar

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

1 french baguette loaf, sliced into 1/2″ pieces

olive oil

3 ounces goat cheese

1/4 cup fresh basil, chopped

salt and pepper

Instructions

Set oven to broil.

In a medium bowl, combine strawberries with sugar and balsamic vinegar.  Let marinate for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, brush top and bottom of each slice of french bread with olive oil.  Broil for 1-2 minutes until toasted and golden, then flip each piece over and broil the other side of the bread.

Top toasted baguettes with goat cheese.  Top with strawberries, then basil, and then salt and pepper to taste.

Enjoy immediately.

TOTAL:  $5.50 or $.46 per piece.

How did I arrive at these prices?  Take a look at my Shopping Guide to see what/how I pay for items.

Nutrition:

135 calories per serving

7 grams of fat

14 carbs

4 grams protein

1 gram fiber

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. These sound so good! I don’t know why I haven’t done this already. I’m not sure what my food BFF would be (besides chocolate, OBVIOUSLY)–maybe eggs or lentils. 🙂

    September 23, 2012
    • Eggs or lentils? Girl, you get a gold star for healthfulness!

      September 24, 2012
  2. Susan #

    Kelly, all of these ingredients make an amazing panini! Give it a try!

    September 23, 2012
    • YUM! I will! Great idea.

      September 24, 2012
  3. This looks awesome. Making it tomorrow with fresh basil straight from my balcony 🙂

    September 23, 2012
    • Awesome! Let me know what you think!

      September 24, 2012
  4. Lemon or chorizo would be my best foodie friend. But goats cheese is up there. I found some spreadable goats cream cheese and have been adding it to everything!

    September 25, 2012

Leave a Reply

