Skip to content

slow roasted shredded pork.

This is my attempt to make big-time fans out of your husbands, boyfriends, sons and male co-workers.

Shredded Pork.

That’s right.

As you know my defenses have become weakened over the years as far as pork is concerned…starting first with prosciutto, then bacon, then pork tenderloin.  I used to work in an office with 7 men who I’m pretty sure dreamed about pork at night.  Well, with this recipe you might as well just call me an all-out pork fan.  There are just no if’s, and’s or butt’s (no pun intended – well that’s not true…I had been thinking about that one for several minutes) about it.

In all honesty we don’t eat pork a lot, but I’ll tell you what:  when I plop a plate of pork in front of Andrew I haven’t just served him the other white meat, I’ve made a valuable investment in our marriage 😉  And he’ll straight up agree.

So let me introduce you to the latest addition to our Sunday afternoon/football watching/supper meal rotation…shredded pork.

Got a blender or food processor?  Good.  Fill ‘er up with spices, garlic, olive oil and brown sugar.

Next add an onion…Lather up your pork shoulder and stick it in your roasting pan or dutch oven.  I should note I buy pork shoulder or tenderloin when I find it on sale for $1.99/lb.

Roast until tender, then grab yo’self 2 forks and get your shred on!

We love this pork with tortillas, cilantro and guacamole.  Going the pulled pork sandwich route would be good too.

Slow Roasted Shredded Pork

(adapted from Pioneer Woman – serves 8)

What You’ll Need:

4 pounds pork shoulder
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
1 tablespoon salt
fresh pepper, to taste
3 cloves garlic
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
3 tablespoons brown sugar
1 onion
all the fixings – tortillas, lime, cilantro, guacamole or avocado, sour cream

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 300F.

Rinse and pat dry the pork shoulder.

Place the oregano, cumin, chili powder, salt, black pepper, garlic, olive oil, white wine vinegar and brown sugar into a food processor or blender.  Cut one onion into quarters and put it in the food processor with the spices. Blend mixture until totally combined and then pour it over the pork shoulder.

Rub the mixture all over the pork, then place in a roasting pan or dutch oven with 2 cups of water.

Cover tightly and roast pork for 2-2 1/2 hours, turning once an hour.  When the pork is tender, turn up the heat to 400F, remove the lid, and roast for 15-20 minutes longer.  When it’s done, let it rest for 15 minutes before shredding.

Shred the pork shoulder using 2 forks. When it’s all shredded pour the juices all over the meat.  Serve with tortillas, lime, pico, sour cream, or guacamole.

TOTAL:  $9.50 + toppings, or about $1.19 per serving

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

369 calories per serving

26 grams of fat

5 carbs

27 grams protein

Did you give it a try?  Leave me a comment below or head over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. love this – made pulled pork sandwiches for my brother and husband the other day, and you are right, they were happy happy happy–what is it with pork–am saving this recipe to be used very very soon–I like being popular with the men in my life

    October 11, 2012
  2. This looks like a great recipe. I have copied it to use later. Thanks

    October 11, 2012
  3. awesome, I’m definitely making this

    October 11, 2012

Leave a Reply

