Skip to content

spiced pumpkin french toast.

True Confession:  I failed my first driving test.

And here’s what’s worse:  When friends asked to see my new license, I totally lied.  I LIED! You see, I had scheduled my test at least a month before, on my 16th birthday, and came back empty-handed.  I mean completely.  I left my license and my pride at the Thousand Oaks Department of Motor Vehicles.  My instructor said something about how maybe I cut off a car on a major street and possibly sped in a school zone.  Maybe.

And for those of you wondering if I went on to be a good driver…well, I can say with confidence that I’ve never been issued a ticket by a police officer.  That’s right, not by any of the 9 police officers who have pulled me over in the 15 years I’ve been driving.  There WAS the little issue of that tiny camera catching me racing through an intersection just after the light turned red.  Oh you silly camera.  What am I to do with you?  I mean I can’t smile or crack a joke or play dumb with you 🙂

While we’re at this whole confession thing, I’ll mention that I’ve been loving me some pumpkin lately.  I’m sure there are so many great and healthy ways to enjoy pumpkin but for the life of me this season I can’t help but add pumpkin to my pasta, toss some in a mousse tart (recipe coming!), or smother it on thick pieces of crusty bread.

There are three steps in this recipe – 3!

Step #1:  Mix up pumpkin, eggs, milk, vanilla and pumpkin pie spice.

Step #2:  Slice up some thick bread – my favorites are french or challah or brioche.

Step #3:  Cook up the french toast and serve with butter, syrup and maybe some chopped spiced pecans if you’re in the mood.

Welcome, Fall.  My last confession:  I think I love you.

Spiced Pumpkin French Toast

(a FFF original – serves 4)

What You’ll Need:

1 loaf french or challah bread, sliced into 1 inch slices

1 cup pureed pumpkin

3 eggs

1 1/2 cups milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice

yummy toppings like butter, maple syrup, caramelized pecans

Instructions:

In a deep baking dish, whisk together pumpkin, eggs, milk, vanilla and pumpkin pie spice until smooth.

Dip bread in the pumpkin mixture, flipping after a few minutes until well coated on either side.

Heat a griddle or nonstick pan with cooking spray or butter.  Cook french toast until golden, about 2-3 minutes per side.  If need be, keep in the oven at 300F while cooking up the rest of the french toast.

Serve with butter and maple syrup or caramelized nuts.

TOTAL:  $4.95, or about $1.24 per serving.

Wondering how on earth I arrived at these costs?  Take a look at my shopping guide to show see what I pay for items, per serving, etc.

Nutrition:

299 calories per serving (not including toppings)

6 grams of fat

46 carbs

15 grams protein

3 grams fiber

Did you give it a try?  Leave me a comment below or head over to Facebook and let me know what you think!

Join the Frugal Foodie Family Food Blog Community on Facebook

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Don’t worry, I failed the first time, too! And I lied. Oh well…

    October 29, 2012
    • Glad I/m not the only one…;)

      October 29, 2012
  2. Looks wonderful!! Love the flavor combinations!

    October 29, 2012
  3. Sounds absolutely delish. And I failed my test…a couple times. 🙂

    October 29, 2012
    • Thanks Cozycakes! Seems I’m not the only one who failed such a momentous test 🙂 Enjoy!

      October 29, 2012
  4. I bow down to your amazing skills – smiling/flirting/laughing your way out of 9 tickets. You go, girl! And I ALMOST failed my first driving test. I was driving on the route that my dad took me to practice every day for 2 months and I STILL failed to slow down fast enough in a school zone. The driving instructor said he would’ve failed me but since it was almost Christmas, he let it slide. It was a Christmas miracle! And this french toast sounds absolutely delicious!

    October 30, 2012
    • What a great christmas gift!! Enjoy.

      October 30, 2012

Leave a Reply

