Skip to content

wine friday: rabbit trick syrah.

Three things on my mind this afternoon:

1.  X-Factor.  I’m so into it.  What I’m not into are the half naked dancers shaking their stuff around the contestants.  Does that make me old?

2.  My daughter is rad.  We let her to keep about 15 pieces of candy from Halloween, and she’s allowed to have 1 piece a day.  But without fail when she chooses her piece of candy for the day, she picks one out for me.  And her dad.  And thus our candy will last about 5 days.  I love her.

3.  My son had this awful viral infection this week, and I have this idea that he picked it up at church nursery.  Anyway, it was the whole deal…crying a lot during the day, lots of waking up at night, no eating, the whole sick thing.  So I think this categorically qualifies me for a glass of wine tonight.  No, actually I’m sure it does.

So here’s what we’ll be drinking…

For your consideration:  Rabbit Trick Syrah

This is a great California red, a 100% syrah blend from several different California vineyards.  Some grapes come from California’s inland valleys, others from the central coast, and some from the San Joaquin Valley, giving this wine a spectacular body…with plum, spice, blackberry and floral characters.

A complex and densely flavored Syrah, this red pairs well with sharp cheeses and entrees like chicken, spinach and basil roulades.

$5.99 at Trader Joes.  But hurry!  Some of the wines I’ve recommended from TJ’s have been known to sell out quickly!

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. This looks great and I love the artwork for the label!! (I’m a big Alice in Wonderland fan). Now as long as it is still there at Trader Joes when we finally get one here in Austin in 2013!! (Can’t wait!)
    Kenley

    November 2, 2012
    • Whoo hooo!!! My childhood friend lives in Austin and I think you’ll see her at the front of the line on the first day. Congrats!! And what’s great is they sell wine at their Texas TJs…yippee!

      November 3, 2012
      • Oh trust me — if they couldn’t, I wouldn’t be nearly as excited as I am! Every time we are visiting a place that has a TJ (and have our car), we always pick up a case of wine to bring back with us!

        November 3, 2012
  2. Heather #

    We’ve had it already and it IS delicious…stop letting out the good, cheap Trader Joe’s wine secrets 😉

    November 2, 2012
    • Sorry Heather…if there aren’t any bottles left next time you’re there, blame me. But seriously, any tips or suggestions I haven’t done yet??

      November 3, 2012
  3. That bottle is worth the price just for the label! How cute 🙂

    November 3, 2012

Leave a Reply

